top of page

What is a Dosha as per Ayurveda?

In Ayurveda, an ancient system of medicine from India, Vata, Pitta, and Kapha are three fundamental doshas or bio-energies that govern the functioning of the human body. Here's a brief overview of each dosha:

  1. Vata: Vata is associated with the elements of air and space. It governs movements, communication, and the nervous system. People with a dominant Vata dosha tend to be creative, energetic, and enthusiastic. When imbalanced, they may experience anxiety, insomnia, dry skin, and digestive issues.

  2. Pitta: Pitta is associated with the elements of fire and water. It governs metabolism, digestion, and transformation. People with a dominant Pitta dosha tend to be focused, ambitious, and determined. When imbalanced, they may experience anger, inflammation, heartburn, and skin rashes.

  3. Kapha: Kapha is associated with the elements of earth and water. It governs structure, stability, and lubrication. People with a dominant Kapha dosha tend to be calm, grounded, and nurturing. When imbalanced, they may experience weight gain, lethargy, congestion, and respiratory issues.

According to Ayurveda, everyone has a unique combination of Vata, Pitta, and Kapha doshas, known as their Prakriti. An individual's Prakriti determines their physical, mental, and emotional characteristics, as well as their susceptibility to certain diseases. Ayurvedic practices aim to balance the doshas through lifestyle modifications, diet, herbal remedies, yoga, meditation, and other therapies to promote overall health and well-being. You can consult us for personalized guidance based on your specific Prakriti and any health concerns you may have.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page